My thoughts on the rumoured April release of Project Scorpio

Recently a rumour has been spreading about the internet of an August release date for Microsoft’ newest addition to the Xbox family, Project Scorpio.So, I thought I would weigh in with my thoughts on this and what I believe Xbox need to do to make the Scorpio a success.

I’m not sure where these rumours first started, so I can’t really go back and read exactly what was said but, I don’t think they’re too far-fetched. I mean, Head of Xbox, Phil Spencer did recently say on the Unlocked podcast that they are considering a pre-E3 conference to show off the Scorpio hardware in all it’s glory. When WB Games announced Shadow of War, they were crowned the first game to officially support the Scorpio, granted they did say “When the Scorpio releases this Holiday season”. Shadow of War is currently penciled in for an August release date, the same time as the rumours of Scorpio. Although I’m sure they’ll also support the PS4 Pro, having this launch alongside the Scorpio could be pretty beneficial for Xbox. Let’s not forget that Bethesda’s Todd Howard also said in an interview recently that they are patching Skyrim and Fallout 4 to support the Scorpio. This was a no brainer, it supports the PS4 Pro so they were obviously going to support the Scorpio. Slowly more and more developers are announcing Scorpio support for games already out or games that are due out before the end of the year. As usual, this is just my opinion and all rumours should be taken with a grain of salt until either officially confirmed or debunked by Microsoft.

middle-earth shadow of war screenshots (1)

Now, what do I think Microsoft need to do to make the Scorpio a success? Easy, games. They NEED (I can’t emphasise this enough) to invest in first party studios, if you go back and look at all the dormant IP’s currently owned by Microsoft, they’ve got some pretty killer titles (Conker, Battletoads, Blinx, Full Spectrum Warrior etc). It feels to me as though Xbox have come into this generation hoping to get by on the likes of Halo, Gears of War and Forza. Don’t get me wrong, Forza and Gears are phenomenal games but Halo? I’m sorry if you disagree but Halo died when Bungie stopped development. I recently said on Twitter that I think at this years E3, Xbox will announce either a new TimeSplitters game or reboot the franchise and it’ll be exclusive to Xbox, whether that be timed or permanent. Maybe this is just me being hopeful as I would love to see TimeSplitters make a return, as do others of my generation. It’s an IP that has been dormant for a long time, recently making a cameo in Homefront.

2708_2005-05-19screen6_large

I have every faith in Phil Spencer to bring Xbox back into contention with PS4 as best as he can given the massive gap in sales but in order to do so, he needs to listen to the hardcore gamers and fans of Xbox, which is something I believe he is doing to his best ability.

Regardless of the situation, I can’t wait for the Xbox conference at E3 this year (June 11th) to finally see what they’ve been working on, they have more to gain from E3 this year than anyone else but they also have more to lose. Ball is in your court, Microsoft.

Leave a Reply

